First Impressions

If I had to describe Barcelona in one word, that word would be: relaxed. Both this beautiful city and St. Paul’s school in which I am placed have a relaxed, carefree atmosphere. There are several breaks throughout the day, extended recesses, and long, slow lunches. In fact, as I write this, I am sitting  on the terrace of the library with a view of the ocean on a two hour break from class.

My current view:


Yesterday, I gave a presentation to my 6th grade students about Kentucky.  They were very inquizzative and had several oddly specific questions about the state and the schools in which I previously taught. Their questions included:

“What do students in America drink with their school lunch?”

“Why do you sing the national anthem so much?”

“How long would it take to walk from one end of Kentucky to the other?”

They seemed amazed and quite confused when I revealed the answers to these questions. I hope to have the opportunity to ask them questions to learn more about the specifics of their culture as well.

Aside from being in the school, my fellow student teachers and I have explored the city and the areas around our residence. We have tried several new foods (some great, some not so great), learned how to use the metro (after finding someone who speaks English), and  found several nice shoe stores (most of them being to expensive for a student teacher’s budget). This weekend, we hope to see Park Güell, Sagrada Família, and the Beaches at Sitges. I hope to find the time to do and see all of the places I can while I am here! 

Here are a few photos from the school:

Leave a Reply

